Understanding the purpose of each subtree can help you locate specific keys and values
in the Registry. The following five subtrees or subtree keys are displayed in the Registry Editor.
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT Contains software configuration data: object linking and embedding (OLE) and file-class association data. This subtree points to the Classes subkey under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE.
HKEY_CURRENT_USER Contains data about the current user. Retrieves a copy of each user account used to log on to the computer from the NTUSER.DAT file and stores it in the %systemroot%\Profiles\username key. This subkey points to the same data contained in HKEY_USERS\SID_currently_logged_on_user. This subtree
takes precedence over HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE for duplicated values.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE Contains all configuration data for the local computer, including hardware and operating system data such as bus type, system memory, device drivers, and startup control data. Applications, device drivers, and the operating system use this data to set the computer configuration. The data in this subtree
remains constant regardless of the user.
HKEY_USERS Contains the .DEFAULT subkey, which holds the system default settings (system default profile) used to display the CTRL+ALT+DELETE logon screen, and the Security Identifier (SID) of the current user.
HKEY_CURRENT_CONFIG Contains data on the active hardware profile extracted from the SOFTWARE and SYSTEM hives. This information is used to configure settings such as the device drivers to load and the display resolution to use.
The HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE Subtree
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE provides a good example of the subtrees in the Registry for two reasons:
■ The structure of all subtrees is similar.
■ HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE contains information specific to the local computer and is always the same, regardless of the user who is logged on. The HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE root key has five subkeys.
December 3, 2009
How to Edit the Registry Using the Registry Editor
Setup installs Registry Editor (REGEDIT.EXE) in the %systemroot%\System32 directory during installation. However, because most users do not need to use Registry Editor, it does not appear on the Start menu. To start Registry Editor, click Run on the Start menu, type Regedit, and then click OK. Although Registry Editor allows you to perform manual edits on the Registry, it is intended for troubleshooting and problem resolution. You should make most configuration changes through either Control Panel or Administrative Tools. However, some
configuration settings can be made only directly through the Registry.
Caution Using Registry Editor incorrectly can cause serious, system-wide problems that
could require reinstallation of Windows XP Professional. When using Registry Editor to view or
edit data, use a program such as Windows Backup to save a backup copy of the Registry file
before viewing. In Windows XP Professional, you can use Backup to back up the System State,
which includes the Registry, the COM class registration database, and the system boot files.
Registry Editor saves data automatically as you make entries or corrections. New Registry
data takes effect immediately. You can select Find Key on the View menu to search the Registry for a specific key.
Key names appear in the left pane of Registry Editor. The search begins at the currently selected key and parses all descendant keys for the specified key name. The search is local to the subtree in which the search begins. For example, a search for a key in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE subtree does not include keys under HKEY_CURRENT_USER.
configuration settings can be made only directly through the Registry.
Caution Using Registry Editor incorrectly can cause serious, system-wide problems that
could require reinstallation of Windows XP Professional. When using Registry Editor to view or
edit data, use a program such as Windows Backup to save a backup copy of the Registry file
before viewing. In Windows XP Professional, you can use Backup to back up the System State,
which includes the Registry, the COM class registration database, and the system boot files.
Registry Editor saves data automatically as you make entries or corrections. New Registry
data takes effect immediately. You can select Find Key on the View menu to search the Registry for a specific key.
Key names appear in the left pane of Registry Editor. The search begins at the currently selected key and parses all descendant keys for the specified key name. The search is local to the subtree in which the search begins. For example, a search for a key in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE subtree does not include keys under HKEY_CURRENT_USER.
December 2, 2009
How did u Configure and Use Remote Assistance
A Remote Assistance session requires that both the user needing help and the expert
user actively participate in establishing the connection. The session is established in the
following phases:
1. The user that needs help sends a Remote Assistance invitation to the expert user.
2. The expert user responds to the invitation.
3. The user accepts the expert user’s assistance.
To send a Remote Assistance invitation, use these steps:
1. From the Start menu, select Help And Support.
2. In the Help And Support Center, under Ask For Assistance, select Invite A Friend
To Connect To Your Computer With Remote Assistance, and then select Invite Someone To Help You.
3. Select the method that you want to use to create the invitation, as shown in Figure
18-18. You can send invitations directly by using Windows Messenger, by using an e-mail attachment, or by saving an invitation file and transmitting it to the helper user (for example, you could save the file to a shared folder on the network).
4. When prompted, enter the requested information, including your name, a message, when the invitation should expire, and (optionally) a password to be used to establish the connection.
5. Click Send Invitation
Note When an invitation is sent through an e-mail attachment or saved as a file, the file has a .MsRcIndicent extension. An expert user must respond to an invitation to continue the process. If the invitation is by using Windows Messenger, you must accept the invitation that is presented in the Messenger pop-up window. If the invitation is sent by e-mail, you must open the attached invitation. If the invitation file is transmitted in some other fashion, you must access and open it. If a password is required, you must enter the password in the
Remote Assistance dialog box. Tip Using Windows Messenger to establish a Remote Assistance connection is the easiest method because the Windows Messenger connection can usually be established regardless of whether there are firewalls on either the user’s or the expert helper’s network. If you use another method of establishing a Remote Assistance session, you must configure a firewall to allow the connection. Like Remote Desktop, Remote Assistance uses TCP port 3389 by default. Windows then notifies the user requiring assistance that the request has been accepted. The user must click Yes in the Remote Assistance dialog box as a final indication of acceptance, and Remote Assistance then establishes the connection.
user actively participate in establishing the connection. The session is established in the
following phases:
1. The user that needs help sends a Remote Assistance invitation to the expert user.
2. The expert user responds to the invitation.
3. The user accepts the expert user’s assistance.
To send a Remote Assistance invitation, use these steps:
1. From the Start menu, select Help And Support.
2. In the Help And Support Center, under Ask For Assistance, select Invite A Friend
To Connect To Your Computer With Remote Assistance, and then select Invite Someone To Help You.
3. Select the method that you want to use to create the invitation, as shown in Figure
18-18. You can send invitations directly by using Windows Messenger, by using an e-mail attachment, or by saving an invitation file and transmitting it to the helper user (for example, you could save the file to a shared folder on the network).
4. When prompted, enter the requested information, including your name, a message, when the invitation should expire, and (optionally) a password to be used to establish the connection.
5. Click Send Invitation
Note When an invitation is sent through an e-mail attachment or saved as a file, the file has a .MsRcIndicent extension. An expert user must respond to an invitation to continue the process. If the invitation is by using Windows Messenger, you must accept the invitation that is presented in the Messenger pop-up window. If the invitation is sent by e-mail, you must open the attached invitation. If the invitation file is transmitted in some other fashion, you must access and open it. If a password is required, you must enter the password in the
Remote Assistance dialog box. Tip Using Windows Messenger to establish a Remote Assistance connection is the easiest method because the Windows Messenger connection can usually be established regardless of whether there are firewalls on either the user’s or the expert helper’s network. If you use another method of establishing a Remote Assistance session, you must configure a firewall to allow the connection. Like Remote Desktop, Remote Assistance uses TCP port 3389 by default. Windows then notifies the user requiring assistance that the request has been accepted. The user must click Yes in the Remote Assistance dialog box as a final indication of acceptance, and Remote Assistance then establishes the connection.
Create a Microsoft Management Console(MMC)
1. First click Start, and then click Run.
2. In the Open text box, type mmc, and then click OK.
3. Maximize the Console1 and Console Root windows.
4. From the File menu, choose Options to view the configured console mode. In what mode is the console running?
5. Verify that the Console Mode drop-down list box is in Author mode, and then click OK.
6. From the File menu, click Add/Remove Snap-In.
The Add/Remove Snap-In dialog appears with the Standalone tab active. Notice that there are no snap-ins loaded.
7. In the Add/Remove Snap-In dialog box, click Add to display the Add Standalone Snap-In dialog box.
8. Locate the Event Viewer snap-in, and then click Add.
The Select Computer dialog box appears, allowing you to specify the computer you want to administer. You can add the Event Viewer snap-in for the local computer on which you are working, or if your local computer is part of a network, you can add Event Viewer for a remote computer.
9. In the Select Computer dialog box, select Local Computer, and then click Finish.
10. In the Add Standalone Snap-In dialog box, click Close, and then in the Add/ Remove Snap-Ins dialog box, click OK.
Event Viewer (Local) now appears in the console tree. You may adjust the width of the console tree pane and expand any nodes that you want to view.
11. On your own, add a snap-in for Device Manager (local).
12. Save the MMC as MyEvents.
2. In the Open text box, type mmc, and then click OK.
3. Maximize the Console1 and Console Root windows.
4. From the File menu, choose Options to view the configured console mode. In what mode is the console running?
5. Verify that the Console Mode drop-down list box is in Author mode, and then click OK.
6. From the File menu, click Add/Remove Snap-In.
The Add/Remove Snap-In dialog appears with the Standalone tab active. Notice that there are no snap-ins loaded.
7. In the Add/Remove Snap-In dialog box, click Add to display the Add Standalone Snap-In dialog box.
8. Locate the Event Viewer snap-in, and then click Add.
The Select Computer dialog box appears, allowing you to specify the computer you want to administer. You can add the Event Viewer snap-in for the local computer on which you are working, or if your local computer is part of a network, you can add Event Viewer for a remote computer.
9. In the Select Computer dialog box, select Local Computer, and then click Finish.
10. In the Add Standalone Snap-In dialog box, click Close, and then in the Add/ Remove Snap-Ins dialog box, click OK.
Event Viewer (Local) now appears in the console tree. You may adjust the width of the console tree pane and expand any nodes that you want to view.
11. On your own, add a snap-in for Device Manager (local).
12. Save the MMC as MyEvents.

